Portugal Essence - The Portuguese Travel Portal Guide

The Algarve

Explore the region of The Algarve

These are the districts in the The Algarve region, go in a journey of discover and knowledge and learn more about the cities and locals on them!

The Faro District

Occupying an area of around 5000 km2, the district of Faro has 16 municipalities: Albufeira, Alcoutim, Aljezur, Castro Marim, Faro, Lagoa, Lagos, Loulé, Monchique, Olhão, Portimão, São Brás de Alportel, Silves, Tavira, Vila of Bishop Vila Real de Santo António

When we talk about the district of Faro, we talk about Algarve,  immediately thinking about the sun, blue sky, beach, dolce far niente... right?

Although this is partly true, the district has much more to offer: cozy and charming villages and towns, where the whiteness of the houses contrasts with the splashes of color of the flowers that adorn them, and whose picturesque windows enchant those who glimpse them, streets and alleys that invite discovery, cities full of history, monuments and traditions, mountains that invite you to contemplate the fauna and flora, to take walks in nature, to breathe the fresh air, natural parks that look like paintings, imposing and magnificent cliffs, Palaces and Fortresses that remind us of the grandeur of ancient times...


What to do in The Algarve!

There are a lot of vibrant cities in the The Algarve, join the locals and get the best time of your stay on so many diferent activities and possibilities!