Portugal Essence - The Portuguese Travel Portal Guide

The Alentejo

Explore the region of The Alentejo

These are the districts in the The Alentejo region, go in a journey of discover and knowledge and learn more about the cities and locals on them!

The Beja District

Beja is the largest Portuguese district (around 10200 km2 ), composed by 14 municipalities: Aljustrel, Almodôvar, Alvito, Barrancos, Beja, Castro Verde, Cuba, Ferreira do Alentejo, Mértola, Moura, Odemira, Ourique, Serpa and Vidigueira.

If Beja had to be described in four colors they would be yellow, green, blue and black. Why? The golden wheat fields, and the sunny days for much of the year, the green olive groves and vineyards disappearing into the horizon, the peaceful blue sky and the astonishing blue sea, the immense dark sky that at night is filled with stars, involving and amazing all who contemplate it.


The Évora District

In the middle of Alentejo, the district of Evora is subdivided into 14 municipalities: Alandroal, Arraiolos, Borba, Estremoz, Évora, Montemor-o-Novo, Mora, Mourão, Portel, Redondo, Reguengos de Monsaraz, Vendas Novas, Viana do Alentejo and Vila Viçosa, being the capital of the district (Évora) known as the "museum city" of Portugal, classified as a World Heritage Site by UNESCO.

Endowed with welcoming and charming Alentejo villages where white houses are enlivened with colorful cutouts, ancient monuments with no shortage of castles and walls that stand out from the rest of the landscape due to their grandeur and significance, Roman ruins and medieval houses reminding other times, wonderful palaces, beautiful churches, convents, fountains and squares inviting for a chat, make the district a region whose essence permeates whoever passes by.


The Portalegre District

Portalegre district is located in the Alentejo region, sub-region of Alto Alentejo, being a region marked by the transition between the mountains of central Portugal and the vast plains, which translates into a unique landscape richness.

It has 15 municipalities: Alter do Chão, Arronches, Avis, Campo Maior, Castelo de Vide, Crato, Elvas, Fronteira, Gavião, Marvão, Monforte, Nisa, Ponte de Sor, Portalegre and Sousel.

The district is rich in wonderful places to discover, with a dizzying diversity. From the largest land-based fortification in the world (Elvas), to refreshing river beaches, from amazing trails and walkways to magnificent castles and fortresses, from wonderful waterfalls to astonishing viewpoints, there are many treasures hidden in the heart of the district.


What to do in The Alentejo !

There are a lot of vibrant cities in the The Alentejo , join the locals and get the best time of your stay on so many diferent activities and possibilities!