Portugal Essence - The Portuguese Travel Portal Guide

Center of Portugal

Explore the region of Center of Portugal

These are the districts in the Center of Portugal region, go in a journey of discover and knowledge and learn more about the cities and locals on them!

The Castelo Branco District

Approximately 50 km from the border with Spain, the district of Castelo Branco has a surface area of 6617 km2 and comprises 11 municipalities: Belmonte, Castelo Branco, Covilhã, Fundão, Idanha-a-Nova, Oleiros, Penamacor, Proença-a-Nova, Sertã, Vila de Rei and Vila Velha de Ródão.

Endowed with unique natural beauty and a masterfully well-preserved centuries-old historical and cultural heritage, the district brings together countless and indisputable reasons to be visited and enjoyed.

Fascinating historic villages where time seems to have a different tempo than the real one, templar fortresses and ancient Roman cities which are very worth visiting and  places where the heritage of yesteryear joins hands with the modernity of current times

For nature lovers, stunning paradisiacal waterfalls, majestic and imposing geological formations...


The Coimbra District

With an area of 3,947 km², the district of Coimbra in the Beira region, has 17 municipalities: Arganil, Cantanhede, Coimbra, Condeixa-a-Nova, Figueira da Foz, Góis, Lousã, Mira, Miranda do Corvo, Montemor-o-Velho, Oliveira do Hospital, Pampilhosa da Serra, Penacova , Penela, Soure, Tábua, Vila Nova de Poiares.

There are many reasons to visit the district.
Extending from the sea to the mountains, there are countless wonderful findings that the region has to offer: magnificent and cool waterfalls, wonderful beaches, splendid castles and palaces, charming villages, walkways, forests and gardens where nature shows all its beauty, imposing monasteries and cathedrals, libraries that exude knowledge and charm...not to mention the cultural, historical and spiritual richness that the region houses within itself.


The Guarda District

There are 14 municipalities in the Guarda district: Aguiar da Beira, Almeida, Celorico da Beira, Figueira de Castelo Rodrigo, Fornos de Algodres, Gouveia, Guarda, Manteigas, Mêda, Pinhel, Sabugal, Seia, Trancoso and Vila Nova de Foz Côa

The richness of the district is well reflected by the diversity of landscapes and scenarios, from pleasant rivers and valleys, to ancient villages whose authenticity and essence envelop those who visit them. Monuments full of history and traditions that resist the passing of time. Mountains with amazing views, waterfalls and idyllic lagoons as well as ancient trails highlight the simplest and most amazing things in nature.
There are many points of interest in the district, with just a few mentioned below.

Nobody can take away a title from it, that of having the highest city in Portugal: Guarda.


The Leiria District

With an area of 3,506 km², the district of Leiria covers 16 municipalities: LeiriaAlcobaça, Alvaiázere, Ansião, Batalha, Bombarral, Caldas da Rainha, Castanheira de Pera, Figueiró dos Vinhos, Marinha Grande, Nazaré, Óbidos, Pedrógão Grande, Peniche, Pombal, Porto de Mós

The district of Leiria covers 16 municipalities: Alcobaça, Alvaiázere, Ansião, Batalha, Bombarral, Caldas da Rainha, Castanheira de Pera, Figueiró dos Vinhos, Leiria, Marinha Grande, Nazaré, Óbidos, Pedrógão Grande, Peniche, Pombal, Porto de Mós

Between the sea and the mountains, the richness of the region is clearly evident not only in natural terms, where beautiful river and ocean beaches, caves, salt pans, waterfalls, lagoons and rock shelters enchant those who visit them, but also in architectural terms, with beautiful monasteries, castles and bridges, churches and much more.


What to do in Center of Portugal!

There are a lot of vibrant cities in the Center of Portugal, join the locals and get the best time of your stay on so many diferent activities and possibilities!