Portugal Essence - The Portuguese Travel Portal Guide

Beja District

Beja is the largest Portuguese district (around 10200 km2 ), composed by 14 municipalities: Aljustrel, Almodôvar, Alvito, Barrancos, Beja, Castro Verde, Cuba, Ferreira do Alentejo, Mértola, Moura, Odemira, Ourique, Serpa and Vidigueira.

If Beja had to be described in four colors they would be yellow, green, blue and black. Why? The golden wheat fields, and the sunny days for much of the year, the green olive groves and vineyards disappearing into the horizon, the peaceful blue sky and the astonishing blue sea, the immense dark sky that at night is filled with stars, involving and amazing all who contemplate it.

Apart from the colours, the district has much more to offer:

  • Southwest Alentejo and Costa Vicentina Natural Park where pure nature is celebrated in all its splendor
  • museums, villas and castles, many of them with amazing views, remembering that many have passed through here before us
  • majestic dams showing that human art can be magnificent
  • imposing cathedrals to feed the spirit of religious people (and beyond)
  • idyllic beaches where you can replenish your energy
  • windmills that serenely delight those who admire them
  • delicious Alentejo cuisine, unique, exclusive, unforgettable

You can´t miss:

  • Rota Vicentina
  • Beja Cathedral
  • Castelo de Beja
  • Castelo de serpa
  • Praia do Malhão
  • Praia de Zambujeira do Mar
  • Adega-Museu Cella Vinaria Antiqua
  • Pulo do Lobo
  • Castelo de Mértola
  • Praia do Almograve
  • Minas de São Domingos

In gastronomic terms, Asparagus or brad crumbs with fried ribs, Lamb stew, Purslane soup, Alentejo-style pork, Purslane soup, curd cheesecakes...

Activities nearby!